What Differentiates Honjozo Sake from Other Sakes?

What Differentiates Honjozo Sake from Other Sakes?

What Differentiates Honjozo Sake from Other Sakes?

Japanese rice brew – also referred to as “water of the gods” – are alcoholic beverages that are commonly called “sakes.” And one of the best among them all is Honjozo Sake. But before discussing this unique alcoholic beverage, here’s a brief note about the different types of sake.

Honjozo Sake from our Store
Available in our store

The different types of Sake

The legal, Japanese name for this alcoholic beverage is Sheisu. It is derived from fermented sake rice in the presence of yeast and fungus. The sake rice used in brewing this liquor is stripped of its bran, thereby removing the oil and protein the grain contains.

Since there are different types of sake, you need to consider them all before making your choice. The degree of milling – i.e., Seimai Buai – makes all the difference to the sake.

Ginjo-Shu, Namazake, Junmai-Shu, Daiginjo-shu, and Honjozo Sake are the five different kinds of sake. These alcoholic beverages are brewed in different ways with varying percentages of milling. This gives them a unique taste and a regular drinker will be able to tell them apart by taste and flavors.

The addition of alcohol to the fermented drink

Alcohol is usually added to the fermented drink, though the goal is not to degrade the sake as some people think. The best way to differentiate one sake from the other is to read the details on the labels of each bottle.

The degree of milling – or the Seimai Buai – of Honjozo Sake is 70 percent. This means that only 30 percent of the grain is milled while 70 percent retains its original size. It is made by the addition of brewer’s alcohol and is not as potent as sake devoid of alcohol.

The addition of alcohol gives this beverage a natural light, smooth body and flavor. It also gives it a distinct and easily identifiable aroma. It is best served warm.

Honjozo Sake
Pixabay.com

Is Honjozo Sake sweet?

Honjozo Sake does not have a characteristically sweet taste. The addition of alcohol after the yeast has wholly fermented the sugar in the sake may be responsible for this.

The producers of bulk sake usually add tremendous amounts of alcohol to heighten their overall volume. But Honjozo Sake producers do not add much. The entire weight of the added alcohol must be around 10 percent of the weight of the sake rice used in brewing. This is, therefore, what qualifies the alcoholic beverage as Honjozo.

Tasting Honjozo

The flavor of the different sakes depends on the type of rice and yeast used. A blind taster may not ordinarily be able to tell the difference between Honjozo and Junmai. But Honjozos have specific attributes that make them stand out.

Honjozo Sake on a table
Pixabay.com

Honjozos are very light on the palate while others – such as Junmai, etc. – have fuller textures. They are also much easier to drink during meals. Too many glasses of Junmai Sakes can, however, tire the palate.

Honjozos are also less complex compared to their counterparts and generally maintain the same flavor/aroma profile as the glass sits. They can be warmed gently without losing their flavor while the same cannot be said about Junmai sakes.

Conclusion

Honjozo Sake is no doubt a unique alcoholic beverage among its counterpart. This is why it is rising in popularity every day. It is also an excellent match with sushi.

Leave a Reply

×

Was unterscheidet Honjozo Sake von anderen Sake?

Was unterscheidet Honjozo Sake von anderen Sake?

Was unterscheidet Honjozo Sake von anderem Sake?

Japanischer Sake – auch “Wasser der Götter” genannt – sind alkoholische Getränke, die allgemein als “Sakes” bezeichnet werden. Und einer der besten unter ihnen ist Honjozo Sake. Aber bevor wir über dieses einzigartige alkoholische Getränk sprechen, hier noch eine kurze Anmerkung zu den verschiedenen Sake-Sorten.

Honjozo Sake from our Store
Available in our store

Die verschiedenen Arten von Sake

Der legale, japanische Name für dieses alkoholische Getränk ist Sheisu. Es wird aus fermentiertem Sake-Reis in Gegenwart von Hefe und Pilzen gewonnen. Der Sake-Reis, der bei der Herstellung dieses Likörs verwendet wird, wird von seiner Kleie befreit, wodurch das im Korn enthaltene Öl und Protein entfernt wird.

Da es verschiedene Arten von Sake gibt, müssen Sie sie alle berücksichtigen, bevor Sie Ihre Wahl treffen. Der Grad der Mahlung – also Seimai Buai – macht den Unterschied aus.

Ginjo-Shu, Namazake, Junmai-Shu, Daiginjo-shu und Honjozo Sake sind die fünf verschiedenen Arten von Sake. Diese alkoholischen Getränke werden auf unterschiedliche Weise mit unterschiedlichem Mahlprozentsatz gebraut. Dies gibt ihnen einen einzigartigen Geschmack und ein regelmäßiger Trinker wird in der Lage sein, sie durch Geschmack und Aromen zu unterscheiden.

Die Zugabe von Alkohol zum fermentierten Getränk

In der Regel wird dem fermentierten Getränk Alkohol zugesetzt, wobei das Ziel nicht darin besteht, den Sake abzubauen, wie einige Leute denken. Der beste Weg, einen Sake vom anderen zu unterscheiden, ist, die Details auf den Etiketten jeder Flasche zu lesen.

Der Fräsgrad – oder der Seimai Buai – von Honjozo Sake beträgt 70 Prozent. Das bedeutet, dass nur 30 Prozent des Korns gemahlen werden, während 70 Prozent seine ursprüngliche Größe beibehalten. Es wird durch den Zusatz von Braualkohol hergestellt und ist nicht so stark wie Sake ohne Alkohol.

Der Zusatz von Alkohol verleiht diesem Getränk einen natürlichen, leichten, geschmeidigen Geschmack. Es verleiht ihm auch ein ausgeprägtes und leicht erkennbares Aroma. Er wird am besten warm serviert.

Honjozo Sake
Pixabay.com

Ist Honjozo Sake süß?

Honjozo Sake hat keinen charakteristisch süßen Geschmack. Die Zugabe von Alkohol, nachdem die Hefe den Zucker im Sake vollständig vergoren hat, kann dafür verantwortlich sein.

Die Produzenten von Massen-Sake fügen in der Regel enorme Mengen an Alkohol hinzu, um ihr Gesamtvolumen zu erhöhen. Dafür die Produzenten von Honjozo Sake fügen nicht viel hinzu. Das Gesamtgewicht des zugesetzten Alkohols muss etwa 10 Prozent des Gewichts des beim Brauen verwendeten Sake-Reises betragen. Das ist also, was das alkoholische Getränk als Honjozo bezeichnet.

Der Geschmack von Honjozo

Der Geschmack der verschiedenen Sakes hängt von der Art des verwendeten Reises und der verwendeten Hefe ab. Ein blinder Verkoster ist normalerweise nicht in der Lage, den Unterschied zwischen Honjozo und Junmai zu erkennen. Aber Honjozos haben spezifische Eigenschaften, die sie auszeichnen.

Honjozo Sake on a table
Pixabay.com

Honjozos sind sehr leicht am Gaumen, während andere – wie Junmai, etc. – vollere Texturen haben. Sie sind auch viel einfacher zu den Mahlzeiten zu trinken. Zu viele Gläser Junmai Sakes können den Gaumen jedoch ermüden.

Honjozos sind auch weniger komplex als ihre Kollegen und behalten im Allgemeinen das gleiche Geschmacks-/Aroma-Profil wie das Glas. Sie können sanft erwärmt werden, ohne ihren Geschmack zu verlieren, während das Gleiche nicht über Junmai Sakes gesagt werden kann.

Fazit

Honjozo Sake ist zweifellos ein einzigartiges alkoholisches Getränk unter seinen Kollegen. Deshalb erfreut sie sich jeden Tag wachsender Beliebtheit. Es passt auch hervorragend zu Sushi.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

×