What Makes Long Beans Unique?

What Makes Long Beans Unique?

What Makes Long Beans Unique?

What Makes Long Beans Unique?

Long beans (Vigna unguiculata) are legume crops that belong to the Fabaceae family. They can be referred to as asparagus beans or Chinese snake beans. They are common for their unripe, tender, long, flexible and chewy pods. These are part of the common pod-vegetables used in East Asian and the Philippines cuisines.

Long beans
Pixabay.com

Over time, the cultivation and consumption of these beans have spread to other parts of the world. Such as, the Southern United States, the Mediterranean and the West Indies.  Long beans are also referred to as ‘yard long beans’ in some parts of the world. This is due to their long nature as they grow about 30cm-80cm long. They are also natively known as dau gok (China), bora (West Indies) and pole sitao (Philippines).

Harvesting and Storage

Long bean is an annual plant which may require the help of a trellis to assist its growth process. Its flowering takes about six to ten weeks after cultivation. It begins to produce its long, flexible, slender, tender and thin pods after two to four weeks for flowering. The pods can be left to mature and dry up properly to be harvested as regular beans. However, to achieve the purpose of a pod-vegetable the pods are immaturely harvested.

Their immature and tender texture makes them vulnerable to perishing quickly if left uncovered or unsealed for a long time. They begin to wither and shrink gradually.

Long beans are best stored in a plastic bag and set in a refrigerator. This would keep them fresh for about two to five days. However, the best way to enjoy and benefit from long beans is immediate consumption.

Health Benefits Long beans

The beans possess a lot of benefits that are essential for human health. The common benefit is their effectiveness in maintaining heart health. Below are some of their health benefits to the body.

Improve Heart Health:  They contain high levels of vitamin K and vitamin D. This makes them a good source for preventing heart disease. The vitamin K content in long beans functions as an active agent in the prevention of clogged arteries. This can develop into artery disease and heart attack. Some studies indicate that when vitamin K2 is merged with vitamin D, it helps in the prevention of cardiovascular diseases.

Diabetic prevention: Consumption of long beans juice daily helps in the reduction of sugar levels that are likely to develop diabetes in the body system. They contain lower levels of calories and carbs, which is safe for blood sugar control.

Long beans
Pixabay.com

Stronger Bones: There are a few bone diseases which can occur as a form of infection or age-related diseases. Long beans contain high levels of manganese and vitamin K, which helps in the maintenance of healthy and stronger bones.

Release of Antioxidants: The importance of antioxidants in the body cannot be overrated. They help fight against free radicals scavengers in the body. Long beans are a good source of these antioxidants.

Aids Digestion: Long beans contain high levels of dietary fiber, which helps in the digestion of food. Generally, dietary fiber reduces the risk of digestive problems such as constipation or colon cancer. This is done by ensuring easy digestion of food and smooth bowel movements.

Side Effects and Allergies

Long beans are highly recommended for all healthy people. People with health conditions like favism (G6PD- enzyme deficiency) and immune allergy to legumes may not be encouraged to consume them in other to avoid allergy triggers.

Leave a Reply

×

Was macht lange Bohnen einzigartig?

Was macht lange Bohnen einzigartig?

Was macht lange Bohnen einzigartig?

Was macht lange Bohnen einzigartig?

Lange Bohnen (Vigna unguiculata) sind Hülsenfrüchte, die zur Familie der Fabaceae gehören. Sie können als Spargelbohnen oder chinesische Schlangenbohnen bezeichnet werden. Sie sind häufig für ihre unreifen, zarten, langen, flexiblen und zähen Hülsen bekannt. Diese sind Teil der in der ostasiatischen und philippinischen Küche verwendeten Gemüsesorten.

Long beans
Pixabay.com

Im Laufe der Zeit hat sich der Anbau und Konsum dieser Bohnen auf andere Teile der Welt ausgedehnt. Wie z.B. die südlichen Vereinigten Staaten, das Mittelmeer und Westindien.  Lange Bohnen werden in einigen Teilen der Welt auch als “Yard Long Beans” bezeichnet. Dies liegt an ihrer langen Natur, da sie etwa 30cm-80cm lang werden. Sie sind auch als dau gok (China), bora (Westindien) und pole sitao (Philippinen) bekannt.

Ernte und Lagerung

Die lange Bohne ist eine einjährige Pflanze, die die Hilfe eines Spaliers benötigen kann, um ihren Wachstumsprozess zu unterstützen. Die Blütezeit dauert etwa sechs bis zehn Wochen nach dem Anbau. Nach zwei bis vier Wochen beginnt sie, ihre langen, flexiblen, schlanken, zarten und dünnen Hülsen zur Blüte zu produzieren. Die Hülsen können reifen und trocknen gelassen werden, um als normale Bohnen geerntet zu werden. Um jedoch den Zweck eines Schalengemüses zu erreichen, werden die Schoten unreif geerntet.

Ihre unausgereifte und zarte Textur macht sie anfällig für den schnellen Tod, wenn sie lange Zeit unbedeckt oder unversiegelt bleiben. Sie beginnen zu verkümmern und schrumpfen allmählich.

Lange Bohnen werden am besten in einem Plastikbeutel aufbewahrt und in einen Kühlschrank gestellt. Dies würde sie für etwa zwei bis fünf Tage frisch halten. Der beste Weg, lange Bohnen zu genießen und zu nutzen, ist jedoch der sofortige Konsum.

Gesundheitliche Vorteile von langen Bohnen

Die Bohnen besitzen viele Vorteile, die für die menschliche Gesundheit unerlässlich sind. Der gemeinsame Nutzen ist ihre Wirksamkeit bei der Erhaltung der Herzgesundheit. Nachfolgend sind einige ihrer gesundheitlichen Vorteile für den Körper aufgeführt.

Verbesserung der Herzgesundheit: Sie enthalten einen hohen Gehalt an Vitamin K und Vitamin D. Dies macht sie zu einer guten Quelle zur Vorbeugung von Herzerkrankungen. Der Vitamin-K-Gehalt in langen Bohnen wirkt als Wirkstoff bei der Vorbeugung verstopfter Arterien. Dies kann sich zu einer Arterienerkrankung und einem Herzinfarkt entwickeln. Einige Studien deuten darauf hin, dass Vitamin K2, wenn es mit Vitamin D vermischt wird, bei der Prävention von Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen hilft.

Diabetische Prävention: Der Verzehr von langem Bohnensaft hilft täglich bei der Reduzierung des Zuckerspiegels, der wahrscheinlich Diabetes im Körpersystem entwickelt. Sie enthalten niedrigere Kalorien- und Kohlenhydratwerte, was für die Blutzuckerkontrolle unbedenklich ist.

Long beans
Pixabay.com

Stärkere Knochen: Es gibt einige Knochenerkrankungen, die als Infektionsformen oder altersbedingte Erkrankungen auftreten können. Lange Bohnen enthalten einen hohen Gehalt an Mangan und Vitamin K, was bei der Erhaltung gesunder und kräftiger Knochen hilft.

Freisetzung von Antioxidantien: Die Bedeutung von Antioxidantien im Körper kann nicht überschätzt werden. Sie helfen bei der Bekämpfung von Radikalfängern im Körper. Lange Bohnen sind eine gute Quelle für diese Antioxidantien.

Unterstützt die Verdauung: Lange Bohnen enthalten einen hohen Gehalt an Ballaststoffen, die bei der Verdauung der Nahrung helfen. Im Allgemeinen reduzieren Ballaststoffe das Risiko von Verdauungsproblemen wie Verstopfung oder Darmkrebs. Dies geschieht durch eine gute Verdauung der Nahrung und einen reibungslosen Stuhlgang.

Nebenwirkungen und Allergien

Lange Bohnen sind für alle gesunden Menschen sehr empfehlenswert. Menschen mit Gesundheitszuständen wie Favismus (G6PD-Enzymmangel) und Immunallergie gegen Hülsenfrüchte dürfen nicht ermutigt werden, sie zu konsumieren..

Schreibe einen Kommentar

×